Susan Sarandon Loving Her Cougar Relationship

by Linda Franklin

Susan Sarandon Loving Her Cougar Relationship Linda Franklin The Real Cougar WomanSusan Sarandon, recently spoke out about her new love interest on The View.  She said “I don’t go by age. I go by the soul of a person”.  Her paramour is Jonathan Bricklin, who is more than thirty years her junior. “I think that when you really love a person, the age thing, the gender, the color, none of that matters. It’s really beyond that.”

“In the past women had to partner up with a man who could support her. Now women are quite financially independent, so we partner up with someone because – radical thought – we like him.”  Amen to that Susan.

Susan is an outspoken, successful, sexy, passionate woman so attracting a younger man wouldn’t be much of a challenge.  Her views might be a tad idealistic.  The women in my Real Cougar community tell me, the relationship between older women and younger men is still frowned upon. They are challenged and sometimes feel very guilty for their choices. In this double-standard world, what’s good for the man isn’t always accepted when a woman follows the same behavior.

I do have to admit however, that often women are their own worst enemies.  Even though they might have a wonderful younger man who adores them, they don’t stop to appreciate the today benefits.  Instead, their heads are spinning about each and every future what-if.  What if he finds a younger woman, what if he really wants to have kids, what if I get sick and he won’t take care of me, what if he is just her for my money, what if our interests grow too far apart.  I wonder if Susan bolts up in bed at night with just a few of those what-ifs?

Of course plenty of older women have beautiful relationships with younger men, but overall the attitude is ‘why is this woman falling for this young dude who is destined to leave her?'”

Flying too close and getting burned by a youthful flame is a risk run by older partners of either sex.

But, with people living and looking good for longer, age difference can be harder for others to tell anyway. Perhaps it’s becoming a moot point.

We used to live in such little boxes and I like to think we’re becoming so much more accepting of people being together just because they want to be together… any relationship with significant non-normative factors – cross-cultural, significant age gaps or certain types of employment that make it long-distance – come with challenges, but you go into it with an open mind.

“Why not?”

The Real Cougar Woman is a 5-carat diamond who knows the importance of taking care of her health, beauty, relationships, finances and spirituality. Linda Franklin says,”there is no stopping a woman who has a strong belief system, passion and a dream. All things are possible”. Linda’s book, Don’t Ever Call Me Ma’am helps women of all ages tap into their power and live life to the fullest.

One thought on “Susan Sarandon Loving Her Cougar Relationship

  1. I was very happy to read about the extreme age difference between these two. My new love interest is 1/2 my age, I am 47 and he is a virgin. I stopped trying to push him away having accepted that he just wants to be with me. Yes, I am concerned that every one will think we’re together for the amazing sex, which we are not having, so ironic. I’m letting him make little steps as he’s comfortable enjoying the process of connecting in different ways as we go.

    I’m am learning to trust that he is wiser than his years and that he embodies all the qualities I was hoping for in a man closer to my age. I am grateful our lives crossing paths now.

Leave a Reply

