Is It Time To Break Up With Your Facebook Page?

                                                                                                                                                                            By: Dr. Fayr Barkley, Ph.D. 

Facebook Addiction - Is It Time To Go Cold Turkey? Fayr Barkely PhdD The Real Cougar WomanAre you caught up in the social media craze/addiction? Do you sit on the toilet updating and reading your posts on Facebook on your IPhone until your legs fall asleep? What does adding “friends” on Facebook really mean?Yesterday I went on my Facebook page and scrolled down to my very first post in December of 2010. I scrolled through two years of happy birthday wishes, tons of “Likes” and even more “LOL” messages and for the life of me couldn’t remember half of the references. I had over 2,000 friends; most of whom I don’t know, will never meet and could care less about following. Was my real social life so lacking that I had to manufacture “friends” on a website in order to feel validated? Apparently, yes.

Clearly, it was time to break up with my Facebook page. But breakups are never easy, and what one does in the passion of the moment of self discovery may soon be regretted. So I decided to do it slowly.
 
First, I took down most of the photos I posted. Do I really want strangers (aka “friends” I don’t know) who may have malevolent intentions peruse them and copy them for God knows what reasons?

Secondly, I started culling the herd of “friends”, a daunting task, as I just want to get the roar down to a bearable and manageable hum. I have worked my way through the names beginning with the letter “A”. Over 200 friends were gone just like that.

Thirdly, as I read the postings others make, I decide if I really want to  keep this person on my list or not. Nothing personal, but if people post pictures that are disgusting, beg for money, push their causes, whine constantly, inbox me every time I am on line and try to engage me in endless, inane conversation–They are history.
 
Fourth, each day I look at the friends I have with birthdays. I no longer wish everyone a happy day. If I don’t know them, I delete them.

Fifth, people who live across the world and type in a language I will never take time to learn, well, I say “adios” to them.

My goal is to get my friends list to only real friends, family members and people I really want to connect with or follow. Other than that, I have bigger fish to fry…like living my life and spending less time on a social networking site that really isn’t helping me socialize.

It’s a start. It will take time to cull the herd. I am not accepting any new friend requests and haven’t for a while. I don’t play the games. I don’t use the applications. I have spent two and a half years of a lot of time reading, posting and clicking. And for the life of me, I can’t remember any of what I have read 24 hours later, except for the people I genuinely care about; which is what healthy relationships are really about. Right?

If you agree, click “Like”. (Sorry. Force of habit.)

 

The Real Cougar Woman is a 5-carat diamond who knows the importance of taking care of her health, beauty, relationships, finances and spirituality. Linda Franklin says,”there is no stopping a woman who has a strong belief system, passion and a dream. All things are possible”. Linda’s book, Don’t Ever Call Me Ma’am helps women of all ages tap into their power and live life to the fullest.

Leave a Reply

