Combat Cougar Makeover Rocked Maine

by Linda Franklin – The Real Cougar Woman

Makeover maine grouip shot

The Combat Cougars in Maine are beyond fabulous.  Last Saturday it was so much fun to watch these beautiful women - presently serving, vets and military spouses, get the royal treatment compliments of  Impulse Salon in Auburn, Maine. The owner, Jennifer Foster-Kritzer, a vet herself, pulled out all the stops providing new hair styles, color, cuts, manicures, makeup and Reiki healings.

 Binas

 

 

But wait it gets better. Jackie Ward, from the NBC affiliate in Portland came to film a segment for the evening news.  From the moment Jackie arrived she felt the strong positive energy of the group. She not only knew, but could feel, the importance of The Shining Service message – –Appreciation and Support for our women in the military. 

This particular event was very dear to my heart because I finally got to meet Bethanie Mazzaro and Karen MacIntire the women who found my blog while serving in Afghanistan.  From the moment I received their first emails, last November, I knew I had to do something to thank all the women for their shining service to our country. So  being able to wrap my arms around them was something I had dreamed of for many months.  They are an inspirational, funny, warm and wonderful.  I am so lucky to have them in my life.

For every Shining Service Makeover there are so many people to thank.  Melissa Albert, of Sweet Melissa's Photography & Design Studio for her fabulous photos. Bina Brianca for her versatile, fabulous wraps.  Belengenza for their wonderful hair care products, and Patty Tobin the wonderful designer of our signature Shining Service Bracelet.

Getting back to New York was somewhat of a challenge, but nothing two Real Cougar Women couldn't handle.  It took 12 hours for my wonderful friend and colleague Trish Rubin, and I to get from Portland to NYC. Our flight was cancelled so we took a bus from Portland to Boston – a train from Boston to NYC – and then a subway home because it was pouring and there were no cabs.  I think the only mode of transportation we didn't use this weekend was a boat. 

We are already busy planning our Veterans Day and Holiday Shining Service Makeovers. There is so much to celebrate and honor with our fabulous Combat Cougars all over the world.

 

The Real Cougar Woman is a 5-carat diamond who knows the importance of taking care of her health, beauty, relationships, finances and spirituality.  Linda Franklin says,"there is no stopping a woman who has a strong belief system, passion and a dream. All things are possible". Linda's book, Don't Ever Call Me Ma'am helps women of all ages tap into their power and live life to the fullest. 

2 thoughts on “Combat Cougar Makeover Rocked Maine

  1. I thought the day wouldn't get here soon enough to meet our mentor Linda Franklin. She has given so much to me personally, from the moment that I connected with her website. It has given me alot of time and thought of what I truly wanted for myself, being able to see something that I didn't in myself. Thank you so very much Linda for everything that you have given to me. The Makeover last Saturday was so much fun and it gave me quite the boost personally. You give so much to us female veteran's and I want to say THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart. You are simply amazing.
    Love,
    Karen (Cougar 6)

  2. Karen you are a terrific woman and getting to hug you after all our emails was absolutely the best.
    Thank you for your kind words but believe me when I say, knowing all you fabulous 'combat cougars' is an inspiration for me.
    We are just getting started.

Leave a Reply

