Makeup Is No Substitute For Loving Myself

Kelly Head Shot by Kelly Falardeau

A couple of days ago I was looking at pictures of burn survivors and noticed how many of the women were wearing lots of makeup to hide their scars.   Whenever I see someone with too much makeup I wonder what they are trying to hide. It's almost like a mask of protection.

I am a burn survivor and I don't like to wear makeup,  Here are the  reasons why: 

The first reason is –  I hate the way it feels on my face.  It doesn't make me feel beautiful.  So, if that's how I feel why would I use it to cover up my scars?  Would I be doing it so other people think I look better? I don't need the approval.  I feel beautiful because of me, not the makeup.

The second reason is – at a young age I did believe that in order to feel beautiful I would have to cover my scars. Wishing or surgery wasn't going to help so makeup was my last resort.  My mom loved makeup and although she knew I was beautiful from the inside out, she felt my pain.  She wanted to help make the scars go away so I could feel like every other kid.  It killed her when I was teased and picked on. I know she wasn't intentionally trying to make me feel beautiful with makeup, there just wasn't any other way for her to help my scars go away.

When I was in elementary school, all I wanted was a face without scars. I dreamed of waking up one morning and "poof" they would have vanished. Down deep I knew that would never happen, but I really wanted it badly.  When one of my friends told me that my scars would never disappear, I was crushed. 

As I grew up and became an adult, I realized that I had to learn to embrace my scars.  I had to love me for the person that I am.  So I did.  I learned to love little parts of my body.  I learned to love my little ear that resulted from the fire. Not too many people have a little ear so it made me special.

Learning to love myself even though I am far from perfect is a gift.  I don't need makeup, I don't need approval – I just need to be happy with me.  I have found so many ways to make myself feel beautiful and the cool thing is, people tell me I'm beautiful all the time. 

I don't need makeup I do need to love ME!

                                       *************

The Real Cougar Woman is a 5-carat diamond who knows the importance of taking care of her health, beauty, relationships, finances and spirituality.  Linda Franklin says,"there is no stopping a woman who has a strong belief system, passion and a dream. All things are possible". Linda's book, Don't Ever Call Me Ma'am helps women of all ages tap into their power and live life to the fullest.

 

Leave a Reply

