Keratin Treatments – Beautiful Hair Has It’s Price

Keratin

Brazilian Blowouts are the rage, especially for women who want to get rid of the frizz before summer. But, as you would expect, there are no free lunches.  Not only is the process very expensive – it could be bad for your health.

The Wall Street Journal reported today that Members of Congress are asking the FDA to issue a voluntary recall of two hair-straightening treatments sold in salons under the brand name Brazilian Blowout.  The concern is about the high levels of formaldehyde which is a suspected carcinogen.

You're going to love this, the Los Angeles marketer of Brazilian Blowout says not only are our products safe, we are generating money for the economy.  That's really comforting.

I had a Keratin treatment done on my hair last Friday.  It wasn't called a Brazilian Blowout it was Copolla Keratin Complex Smoothing Therapy.  I chose the one with the lowest dose of  formaldehyde.  I was told there has to be some formaldeyhyd because that's what opens up the hair follicle to receive the product.  Anyway this treatment restores and restructures the hair by infusing a special blend of hydrolyzed keratin deep into the cuticle. The hydrolyzed keratin is bonded to the cuticle with heat from a flat iron to relax the hair's subcuticle layer.  This can run you anywhere from $300 to 400.

I have to say that even though this was supposed to be the least toxic product, the fumes get into my eyes and my throat.  You don't have to be a genius to know this can't be good.

When you have the Copolla Treatment you cannot wash your hair for 72 hours and I didn't.  So on Monday morning, looking like the wicked witch of the west, I finally shampooed. Oh, by the way, you have to use the special Keratin Shampoo and Conditioner to preserve this major investment and that cost me another  $40.

I have to say, that my hair is smooth and shiny.  It's a rainy week here in New York and normally that would turn my head into one big frizz fest.  Not any more.  It is a little flatter than I like, but my hair stylist assured me that after two weeks I could get some poof back.

If you've had a Keratin treatment I'd love to hear about it. If I continue to read more negative articles on these straighteners I am not sure if I will do it again.  

Why is everything  we like always bad for us?

   

Leave a Reply

