Real Cougar Mom Daily Marathon

Dawn n kids I feel the best way for you to get to know me is to join me in my daily marathon. Get ready, as you may become exhausted just by reading about my life. 

The day typically starts with getting up at the crack of dawn, and pulling myself and my two teenagers together.  Then there is a two to three hour commute from the Jersey Shore to downtown Manhattan where I work in Radio Advertising Sales at WOR 710.  After I arrive there are countless meetings, proposals, copywriting and phone calls to get through.

The second part of my day is all about racing out of  NYC hoping to make it to back to the Jersey Shore by 8pm so I can pick up my 13-year-old daughter from acting class. On the way home there is always some school supply or a quick run to the grocery store, dry cleaner or deli. Then we grab some dinner and recap our day. I then go drag my 15-year old son away from his laptop or video game and have a little one-on-one time.

People always ask, "how do you do it?" my response is simply, if I thought about it I could never do it…I just take it day by day and do the best I can…it all seems to work out. 

My life is far from perfect, and it is more like a juggling act than a balancing act, but I do manage to find time for career, family, a girls night out or taking a road trip down to Atlantic City with my 82 year-old Mom. 

Every once in awhile, I also enjoy slipping into my “cougar skin”, which I have proudly worn for the past nine years, well before cougar/cub relationships became the “Trend Du Jour.”  Dating cubs 10-15 years younger has been fantastic but has come with its share of frustrations. I will certainly be dedicating several posts specifically on wandering in the cougar wilderness. 

Being a Real Cougar is ultimately what brought me here. Linda Franklin and I met some 3 years ago when the term “cougar” was just starting to make its way into America’s lexicon and well before entering our living rooms.  Linda and I had something in common….we both strongly believed that women over the age of 40 should NOT be portrayed as “Desperate Sugar Mamas” or as women who only want to pounce on “Boy Toys” with six-pack abs. 

I want to thank Linda for remaining true to her vision which has turned into a very strong voice & advocate for Real Cougars as ‘smart, sexy, independent women who are proud to be over 40.’ When I ran  into Linda a couple of months ago she was being interviewed at my radio station, News Talk Radio 710, WOR. She was discussing her “Shining Service Worldwide” initiative supporting the “Combat Cougars” who serve this great country of ours…what a fabulous cause! 

So please join me, a 45-year-young single-mom, and raise your glass filled with something fantastic and toast the fact that you, like me, are over forty, fortunate for having life experience & and feeling oh so fabulous!

Leave a Reply

