Cougar Women Open Up About Marrying Younger Men

LindaFranklin01a Last week wowOwow.com asked their readers this question – 'if you were no longer married would you consider marrying a younger man'?  In my opinion,  the connection between two people has very little to do with their age, but if I was forced to give a yes or no answer I would have to say NO but not for the obvious reason. 

Remember growing up we heard 'it's just as easy to fall in love with a rich man as a poor one'?  Well, today we could substitute rich for young.. Even though society doesn't readily accept these love matches, it's definitely becoming more popular.

Women today who are 40+++  are taking better care of themselves, working longer and are infused with a youthful energy and spirit.  They want someone who feels the same enthusiasm for life as they do.  Often that person is a younger man. 

So, back to why I wouldn't marry a younger man.


It has very little to do with age and more to do with the 'M" word.  I'm not a big fan of marriage.  It took me over 20 years of living together to finally walk down the aisle. I will always want a special man in my life, and very possibly someone younger, but not a husband.   

Here are a few more opinions on the sugject.

Candance Bergen says, "Okay. First, it’s about time THAT sexist taboo was done away with. Once it was addressed, it disintegrated fairly quickly. That said, if I were not so extremely old and happily married, I might partner with a younger guy — with the understanding that it would end badly … for me. And with the understanding that as I aged and withered and fattened, my anxiety would also increase. It wouldn’t be a relationship for sissies".  

Joan Ganz Cooney – "If I were single – and this has been true for years – I would neither marry nor partner with any man of any age.  I’ve been married for 30 years to the only man on the planet with whom I could possibly live.  I think a woman who is looking for a partner would be smart to marry or partner with someone at least several years younger because women live longer than men, so it makes sense.  How much younger is up to the cougar … er, I mean woman.

So now I have to ask -  would you consider marrying a younger man?  I can tell you that the women in my community who have taken the plunge are very happy.  And don't even get me started on how they grin ear to ear when the discussion comes around to their sex lives!!! 

 

The Real Cougar Woman is a 5-carat diamond who knows the importance of taking care of her health, beauty, relationships, finances and spirituality.  Linda Franklin says,"there is no stopping a woman who has a strong belief system, passion and a dream. All things are possible". Linda's book, Don't Ever Call Me Ma'am helps women of all ages tap into their power and live life to the fullest.

3 thoughts on “Cougar Women Open Up About Marrying Younger Men

  1. I would definitely marry a man younger than myself. I don't feel or look my age. Married a man 5 years older than I…that was 24 years ago (we've been divorced for 5 yrs); he was a couch potato, and just acted…old…I don't want that and won't settle for it! Bring it on… haha

  2. As women we NEED to understand dating and marriage are two different worlds. We are conditioned to believe if you LOVE enough the man will do the right thing. Some men regardless of loving will have a set personality that sabotages a healthy marriage regardless of age. The real deal is that marriage requires emotional maturity at ANY age. There are enough men out there regardless of age DO NOT commit to marriage as women,therefore the double standard continues in the traditional marriage. If a woman is lucky to find a REAL partner who see's her as an equal then age does NOT matter. Most women will NOT really now how emotionally mature their Partner really is until they are 5 years into the marriage or relationship. I say take the risk but do it smartly get a prenuptial agreement and have fun!!

  3. I am looking for a younger man for a long term relationship. I had joined cougar cub websites.. There is great difficulty still believing that an available, loving and attentive younger mate is available and even exists. It does not help much if many I found on sites seek no commitment date carelessly and immaturely,and want to sexually experiment with an older woman,and marry their own age afterward, therefore, where is he?..and does not desire children?

Leave a Reply

