Cougar Dating Facts

The other day I was chatting with the founder of Cougared.com, a dating site for women over 40.  They have over 60,000 registered users so far and are going strong.  After our conversation I was sent the results of a survey they had recently conducted with their members.  I thought you might enjoy reading these interesting factoids. 

Cougar couple 3 I am always getting asked what is the attraction?  What does a younger man see in an older women?  Believe me, it's not hard to figure out.  Women over 40 are closer to attaining financial independence, they are confident, they are smart and they know what they want.  Many have had children or are childless by choice.  All of these qualities are a big plus.  And don't let forget this one.  They have gotten past playing games – they tell it like it is which is also a big turn on.

Well anyway here are the interesting tidbits from the survey:-

76% of cougars are either divorced or separated from their husbands, which fits the idea that many women look for some fresh excitement after a stale marriage.

More than 90% of cougars are looking for a serious relationship – a myth-busting finding which shows that cougar women aren't all just looking for casual fun.

Most cougar women either let the younger man pay for dinner or insist on splitting the check – who says cougar women are all sugar mamas?

45% of cougars have dated more than five younger men – defying the claim that it's a one-off experiment…dating younger men is often a lifestyle choice.

Emotional baggage is what most turn cougars off dating men their own age, so older guys need to lighten up to compete.

Have a happy July 4th everybody and don't forget to take time to make your own personal fireworks.

3 thoughts on “Cougar Dating Facts

  1. I love that–"make your own personal fireworks."
    It's the right attitude! If you've learned anything by now, it's that a positive, cheerful attitude can work miracles–making your work seem lighter and more rewarding, your social relationships more pleasant.
    As for the survey, I think a lot of us real cougars "keep ourselves up." We are exercising, eating right and taking the time to groom and dress ourselves nicely. That just happens to make us attractive to younger men. When we do all this, we naturally feel "positive," so who needs someone else's baggage?

  2. Linda, thank you for sharing. It is very interesting info but not surprising. We all know that women after 40 are more active, more involved, have more energy, self confidence and self esteem than lots of men at this age.
    So cheers to all of us who try to feel and look fabulous at any age.

  3. I feel I have a lot more to offer than my younger counterparts. I'm 50+ & feel 30. I have my own consulting business & own my home. I've worked hard for everything I have. Lots of men my age are dating women a lot younger. I've been single a really long time & it would take a very dynamic,secure man to sweep me off my feet.

Leave a Reply

