Cougars Had Another Rough Week- Does She Stay or Go?

Group of women Wow – last week was a doozie. To see what I mean, just read my previous three blog entries.  Cougars were under attack big time.  Cougar haters are declaring this open season on this wondrous breed of cat.  Any time a woman steps out of line and does something society doesn't think is proper all hell breaks loose. Here's an article that appeared in Canada's Globe and Mail  just to give you a better idea of what I'm talking about. .

I have to admit that all this negativity is having a profound effect on me.  I don't know if you realize this, but I myself am not a cougar in the traditional sense of the word. I am married and my husband is not younger than I am.  Nevertheless, I fit the Real Cougar profile because I am smart, confident,iindependent and proud to be over 40.   

When I first read how women were being maligned just because they were choosing younger partners, I felt I wanted to do something to change the image.  I started The Real Cougar Woman over 3 years ago and have dedicated all my time and effort to empowering, defending and educating all these free-spirited, fabulous females. My book, Don't Ever Call Me Ma'am is an extension of that mission. But, lately I have been feeling that my strong and powerful message is falling on deaf ears. Every time I sing the praises of the strong, confident and independent woman over 40 there are thousands who prefer to think of her as a predator on the prowl.  Now I hear that Cougartown is changing it's name   The pressure from advertisers must be huge. 

I have thousands of women in my community and I will continue to do everything I can to support them.  I love my Real Cougars, I love writing on this blog and will continue to do so with the same enthusiasm I have always had for empowering women.  In fact, there are now brand new projects that I will share with you soon. 

So it just comes down to the name – does cougar stay or go?   Please help me decide.  If you would like to pipe in on all this cougar craziness, I welcome your comments.  In the meantime, stay tuned for the continuing saga.  

Leave a Reply

