Michelle Obama’s Clothes Closet – Why Do We Care?

I don't want to be the voice of doom and gloom but it's not easy to ignore what's going on in our Michelle obama country.  Lately I only watch the news once a day but that's enough to see that our economy is in deep trouble.  The Dow Jones keeps hitting new lows and the bailouts – well they just keep coming.  So, why in the world with everything that's going on, do we care what Michelle Obama is wearing?  Why are we debating whether or not she is showing too much arm?   

I admit, I am in a grumpy mood today, but give me a break. Give us women credit for caring more about our financial futures than the latest dress our first lady is wearing.  Even the Huffington Post is taking a poll to see how the American people are feeling about this sleeveless controversy.  

So let me ask you – do you really care what Michelle is wearing today? Honestly, aren't you more focused on your job, your IRA and being able to make your monthly mortgage payments?  I sure as hell hope so.   

6 thoughts on “Michelle Obama’s Clothes Closet – Why Do We Care?

  1. I try not to watch the news, but I somehow seem to turn on the TV whenever someone is talking about Michelle Obama's clothes, her style or more recently, her arms. Do I care? If they weren't talking about it, I may notice a nice outfit once in a while, but I don't think I'd be talking about it or commenting to anyone I know about her arms. Not with this economy! Certainly not when the economy will probably get worse before it gets better. Not with all of the challenges I believe boomer women will be facing in the coming decades. I don't think most of us really give a hoot about what she wears and I resent TV people for talking about those things instead of what we really need to be doing to survive and thrive.

  2. There is so much going on in this country, that it really doesn't matter to me one way or another what Mrs. First Lady Obama is wearing. We just recently had a 78 year old woman, raped and set on fire in Dallas, Texas that Safety is a big issue and fore more concerns me more, than what the first lady is wearing. However, it does make me proud to be an American because they are talking about her style, Mrs. Bush looked good as well.

  3. I'm so glad to see intelligent responses to Michelle Obama's wardbrobe. Frankly, I've gotten terribly frustrated and annoyed with the trivia the media persists on feeding us on a regular basis. What is amazing to me are the number of intelligent women who think you're "hating" when you choose not to have that discussion. Even if we didn't have the issues we do, Obama's wardrobe would be the last of my concerns.

  4. I'm so glad you spoke up about this! Not only do I not care, I'm disgusted with how shallow we must be thought to be to worry over whether our First Lady wears sleeveless clothing! My goodness – we all have arms, why not show them? What, are we suddenly puritans? If she had hideous arms, it might be different, but she doesn't, so – it's a big so what!
    I want to see the media focus more on how we, as women, can thrive more, how we can live our dreams more, how we can expand intelligence, creativity and joy in our own and others' lives.
    Good grief. Sleeves, indeed!
    aloha –
    Angela

  5. Can't wait 'til all the people doing the bitching about her clothes or arms get to be her age. Ha ha ha ha, the shoe will be on the other foot. She's got a great eye for clothing, and I love her use of color! Go Michelle!

Leave a Reply

