Vitamin D – Are You Getting Enough?

I have written several blogs about the importance of Vitamin D.  So many people aren't getting enough of the stuff probably because we spend so much time indoors.  Then when do go outside we've been taught to slather ourselves from head to toe with the latest and greatest sunscreen.  It seems you can't win.  Whenever you do something right you end up doing something wrong. Another fiftish couple

Vitamin D is metabolized into steroid hormones that actually maintain over 200 of our genes. It's being touted as a Wonder Drug. A study in the Archives of Internal Medicine last month found that men with low D had a higher risk for heart attacks.  Other studies have linked low D with cancer of the breast, ovary, prostate, stomach, bladder, esophagus, kidney and lung.  Low levels of D also have been associated with high blood pressure, stroke, diabetes, periodontal disease, rheumatoid arthritis, multiple sclerosis, macular degeneration, mental illness and chronic pain.

So having said all that, I discovered last month that I'm Vitamin D deficient.  I have been taking over 1000 IU's per day for years but I suppose I'm not getting enough natural sunshine.  Ultraviolet B (UVB) rays don't penetrate sunscreen with a factor of 8 or more.  I'm using 40.  I read that spending 20 minutes outside at noon in New York City will provide our bodies with 20,000 IUs of Vitamin D. That's seems like a pretty easy remedy so I'm trying to do that more often.

My doctor put me on a megadose of D that I take once a week for the three months.  I've also increased  my daily dose up to 2500 IU's.  All doctors should be testing your D levels, but they probably won't unless you ask for it.  So please remember to do that. 

Leave a Reply

