Men’s Health – Why Don’t They Pay Attention?

Hispanic boomer couple Women have been beating their chests since time began, trying to get men to take better care of themselves.  They seem to be oblivious when it comes to their health.  Even when they see one of their own species develop a problem, it doesn't seem to scare them into changing their habits.

 I don't get it, and I'm not alone.  Every time we go out to eat, I see women rolling their eyes and sending dirty looks as their husbands order. Maybe, once in a blue moon, they'll pacify us by having the fish instead of the steak.  On those occasions I guess they think they're doing us a favor.  Oh boy!

I don't know about you, but this lack of concern about their bodies drives me nuts.  Even though, it's not about me, I take it personally.  At times I feel, if he cared about me, he'd take better care of himself.  Of course, those thoughts are completely out of whack, but sneak in nevertheless.

The 64 million dollar question is why don't they care?  Is it something in their male genes?  I've asked men to explain it and even they don't have an answer. Ladies, we may never figure it out, so I will share a couple of things that popped into my head.

  • maybe, they're embarrassed to talk about it – whatever it happens to be
  • maybe, it's the "if I don't pay attention it will go away" syndrome
  • maybe, they're afraid to find out the truth about what's going on
  • maybe, they hate needles and the sight of their own blood
  • maybe, they don't think it's macho to be seen in a paper gown with their behind sticking out

Whatever the reason, the fact remains, men will continue to live in a fool's paradise and women will continue to worry. We are going to be there for them, no matter what. 

If you read this and have any tips on hubbie training,  I'm sure all of us women would love to hear them.

One thought on “Men’s Health – Why Don’t They Pay Attention?

  1. Hello, Linda,
    I've been thinking through your question about why men don't take care of themselves. I'm 59, spend at least 4 days a week at the gym, and may not fit the profile. But I think the question is a good one.
    1. My dad just had his 4th amputation this year as a result of diabetes. The docs began talking with him about his eating habits in the mid 1960's. He didn't listen to them or us.
    2. Just had a high school reunion last year. Great turnout. But many of those who did not attend chose to opt out solely on their appearance. That was more true of the women than the men (do we have less shame?!).
    Here's what I think I've observed over the years:
    a. Women are always conscious of their appearance and health and are often overly-concerned. That is, there is always "something" that isn't quite right. But they seem to want to work on "it."
    b. Men, on the other hand, are conscious of whether or not they can "get" or "have" a woman. Therefore, if they have someone who shows them caring and takes care of their needs, they seem to figure "I'm good to go." And the health/physical appearance aspect gets put on the back burner.
    This in no way implies that all people behave this way. But I've given it a lot of thought and observation because I am a little puzzled, too. So that's my two cents at this point.
    Best wishes with the new blogging endeavor.
    Steve

Leave a Reply

